Drue Heinz Winner Brad Felver

Wednesday, September 12, 2018 @ 7 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Free RSVP 2018-09-12 7 p.m. 2018-09-12 8:30 p.m. America/New_York Drue Heinz Winner Brad Felver 40 W. North Avenue, Pittsburgh PA 15212 Alphabet City

Join us for a reading with 2018 Drue Heinz Winner Brad Felver, reading from his award-winning short story collection The Dogs of Detroit. He will be joined by this year’s Drue Heinz judge Lynn Sharon Schwartz, presenting her own novel Leaving Brooklyn.

Brad Felver is a fiction writer, essayist, and teacher of writing. His debut collection of stories, The Dogs of Detroit, won the 2018 Drue Heinz Literature Prize and is forthcoming from the University of Pittsburgh Press in September 2018.

His fiction and essays have appeared widely in magazines such as One Story, New England Review, Colorado Review, Hunger Mountain, and many others. His honors include the O. Henry Award, a Pushcart Prize Special Mention, and the Zone 3 Fiction Prize.

He lives in northern Ohio with his wife and two sons.


Lynn Sharon Schwartz’s more than two dozen books include the novels Disturbances in the Field; Leaving Brooklyn, a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award; Run for Your Life; and Rough Strife, a finalist for the National Book Award. Schwartz is also the author of three poetry collections: No Way Out but Through; See You in the Dark, and In Solitary.

The Brooklyn, New York, native has also published non-fiction, short stories, a memoir, essays, and translations. Schwartz is the recipient of awards from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts (in fiction and translation), and the New York State Foundation for the Arts. She has taught widely in the United States and abroad, and currently teaches at the Bennington College Writing Seminars and the Columbia University School of the Arts.

Lynne and her husband, Harry, are the co-directors of a new audio project, Calliope Author Readings. Recordings of great American authors reading brief excerpts from their works are now available through their website, Calliopeauthorreadings.com.


The Drue Heinz Literature Prize was established in 1980 to encourage and support the writing and reading of short fiction. The first award was presented in 1981 to David Bosworth for The Death of Descartes, selected by Robert Penn Warren. Over the past nearly four decades, some of the most accomplished writers in the English language have served as senior judges, including Raymond Carver, Joyce Carol Oates, Margaret Atwood, Russell Banks, Alice McDermott, John Edgar Wideman, Elizabeth Hardwick, Michael Chabon, Joan Didion, Scott Turow, Ann Patchett, and Richard Russo. They have selected the best collections from the hundreds of manuscripts submitted annually to receive a cash prize of $15,000 and publication by the University of Pittsburgh Press.  

The prize was endowed by the Drue Heinz Trust in 1995 to provide funds for the prize in perpetuity.  As one journalist wrote at the time, if the short story and novella are “stepchildren” in the world of literature, “then the Drue Heinz Literature Prize is a fairy godmother.”

Event Details

September 12, 2018 @ 7 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
40 W. North Avenue, Pittsburgh PA 15212

Newsletter Signup